Caldwell Memorial Awards

The Caldwell Memorial Awards were established in 1974 to promote research and writing in Texas and local history.  The Awards were named to honor the contributions of C. M. Caldwell and his shared belief with Walter Prescott Webb regarding the importance of young people researching and writing Texas and local history.  The Awards are made possible by the C. M. and Cora Caldwell Memorial Endowment Fund established by Clifton and Shirley Caldwell of Albany, Texas.

The following PDF document contains information about the current contest and the required registration form:

Caldwell Writing and Chapter Award Information and Submission Form

2018 Recipients

Lower Division:
1st Place -Emily Blumentritt, Lee College, Prairies and Industry: The Ecological History of the Galveston Bay Area
2nd Place – Tyler White, San Jacinto College-Central, The Birthplace of Texas
3rd Place – Jazmin Garcia, Northeast Texas Community College, Mildred Moody and the Conservative Mentality
4th Place – Rhylie Anderson, Northeast Texas Community College, The Politics of Futility

Upper Division:
1st Place -Catarina Garza, Texas A&M University-San Antonio, The Fairmount Hotel: Moving the Past into the Present 
2nd Place – Albert Gonzales, Texas A&M University-San Antonio, Mestizo Folk Music: The Evolution of Mariachi Music
3rd Place – Mark Snyder, Texas A&M University-San Antonio, Knights of the Golden Circle: History, Influence, and Legacy
4th Place – Philip Ferraro, Texas A&M University-San Antonio, For the Love of San Antonio

Graduate Division:
1st Place -No Award
2nd Place – No Award

Chapter Project:
Jacksonville College

Chapter of the Year Award

Deadline: December 1st

Each year the Walter Prescott Webb Historical Society, the college affiliate of the Texas State Historical Association, will honor chapters who show outstanding commitment and outreach within their communities with the Chapter of the Year Awards.

Chapter Divisions
Two awards will be presented each year. The first, College Chapter of the Year, will be presented to the outstanding chapter from a Junior College or Community College.  The second, University Chapter of the Year, will be presented to the outstanding chapter from a University.

Chapter Reports
In order to be considered for the award, chapters must submit a chapter report by December 1st of each year, based on the calendar year of January 1 – December 31.  Reports will be evaluated based on the following:

  • Was the chapter represented at the spring meeting?
  • Was the chapter represented at the fall meeting?
  • Did the chapter have entries in the Caldwell Competition?
  • What school activities did the chapter participate in during the calendar year?
  • What community activities did the chapter participate in during the calendar year?
  • What projects has the chapter participated in or completed within the calendar year?

Chapter Reports should be e-mailed to by the December 1st deadline and will be published in the forthcoming issue of Touchstone, published in March each year.

Each chapter awarded will be presented with a trophy at the annual Spring Meeting, held each March in conjunction with the Texas State Historical Association Annual Meeting.  A chapter may not receive the award in two consecutive years.

College Chapter of the Year Recipients:

2017 – Northeast Texas Community College

2016 – San Jacinto Community College – South

2015 – Lee College

2014 – Jacksonville College

2013 – Northeast Texas Community College

2012 – Lee College

University Chapter of the Year Recipients:

2017 – University of Houston – Downtown

2016 – Lamar University

2015 – University of Houston – Downtown

2014 – Texas A&M University – San Antonio

2013 – Lamar University

2012  – University of Houston – Downtown

For more information on the Webb Society Chapter of the Year Awards or on how to start a Webb Society Chapter, contact